Welcome! Bem-vindo! Welkom!

Howdy!

Thanks for checking out my blog which I have finally got up and running, after much prevaricating.

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Paul and I live for football. I am a life-long Chelsea supporter (yup, I was there in the bad old days too) but have always followed the game on a worldwide basis. Whilst I’ll always be found watching the blues in Premier League or Champions League action, I do also love watching a World Cup Qualifier between Canada and Barbados or Macau and India as well.

As a result of my passion for the world game, I have been lucky enough to watch games all over the world (and start a pretty impressive collection of football shirts too!). I have lived in South Africa and New Zealand, as well as my native England, and I am due to move to the north of Portugal in the near future. During this time, I have been a regular at my local sides and learnt quite a bit about how the game is played and viewed in other countries.

I have had the good fortune to be at De Klassieker in the Netherlands when Ajax beat Feyenoord 3-0 in a packed out Amsterdam ArenA. I have also watched Ajax’s namesake in Cape Town go out of the Telkom Knockout Cup on a glorious summer’s day in an empty Cape Town World Cup Stadium to Golden Arrows. I’ve watched an ethnically Croatian club called Central United win 4-0 at home to Papatoetoe in an all-Auckland derby for 3 points in the Northern Region Premier Division in New Zealand. Torrential rain kept the crowd down to about 50 that day! And I was present as DC United beat the now defunct San Jose Clash in the 2nd season of MLS at RFK Stadium in 1997.

I have written quite a bit for websites and will display links to some of my articles on this blog. I’ll also update the blog with my own articles on other areas of the world game, so feel free to check those out as and when I post. Any opinions anyone has are greatly welcomed – negative or positive. And if anyone out there requires an enthusiastic writer for a website or article, please drop me an e-mail at contact@paulgellard.co.uk.

Best wishes,
Paul
Leave a Reply

